top of page

Dear Reader

Welcome to a new year, a new decade and hopefully not the same you. Brace yourself for what may be a failed experiment at my first-time blogging. But at least I can say I will succeed in trying something new in the new year.

Hi, my name is Casie Hahn and I am a senior at UNC Chapel Hill. I am in my last semester of undergrad and will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Arts in Media and Journalism with a concentration in graphic design from Hussman School of Journalism and Media.


This has been an identity that I have carried with me for about 3 years now (after declaring my major at the end of freshman year). And it’s everything and nothing at the same time. I will expand upon this paradox in future posts.


College has been a crazy ride that is about to end, and I don't know how to feel about that, yet. I can look back fondly on the good memories and also at surviving the darker times. But there is so much I wish I knew when I first stepped foot on campus. My vision for this blog will be to create a space where I can reflect and essentially write to my younger self and any other "younger me’s" out there. By no means am I saying that I have it all figured out now, because that is truly the furthest thing from the truth. But there’s a lot on my heart that I would like to share so that maybe just one person could side step a mistake that I made along the way or simply gain perspective on common college growing pains.


I plan to blog twice a week throughout this last semester. I must confess that this isn’t an intrinsic goal I set but is part of my Branding of Me class taught by Professor Gary Kayye. Through this series, I hope to expand my brand to reflect on who I am outside of the classroom. I hope to explore my passion for people with you and leave my reflections for those in college still with reminders that might be useful for me and my peers post-graduation.


My opener is not intended to say that the you you are today is not full of worth in your current state. It’s to emphasize that part of life and being alive means that we are always growing. If you have made it till the end I would like to say thank you. Thank you for giving me even a few minutes of your time. In our journalism classes we learn that the average news reader may spend around 30 seconds on any article just reading the first paragraph.


I would like to leave you with a quote at the end of every blog from someone older and wiser than myself. Please join me on this journey of self-awareness, new perspectives and encouragement. I hope that we can all strive to challenge ourselves to never stop learning and growing to be the best versions of ourselves we were designed to be.

"Yesterday I was cleaver, so I changed the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself." -Rumi

Comments


bottom of page